mercredi, 24 octobre 2018 05:57:54

POUSADA VISEU

HISTORIC HOTEL | CENTER | PORTUGAL

Pousada de Viseu, Beira Alta, Portugal

Coordonnées GPS: Latitude N 40 39.170 Longitude W 7 54.814

La pousada est située dans la ville historique de Viseu, enommée pour ses trésors artistiques et ses églises monumentales. Viseu est la capitale de la province Beira Alta, située sur un haut plateau et entourée par un environnement naturel verdoyant.

La pousada occupe une position centrale, à quelques minutes de la Place Rossio de Viseu et des étroites rues pavées du quartier historique. Le point culminant de la ville est la magnifique cathédrale (Sé) en granite, qui date du XIIIe siècle. Viseu fut aussi le lieu de naissance du peintre du XVIe siècle Vasco Fernandes, dont l’importante œuvre est exposée au Museu de Grão Vasco.

Chaque été, Viseu accueille la Foire São Mateus, qui date du moyen-âge et est l’un des marchés d’artisanat et agricole les plus importants de la région. Les célébrations animées comprennent de la cuisine traditionnelle et de la musique, avec des artisans locaux spécialisés dans la poterie noire, la vannerie et la dentelle.

Les vestiges d’un camp militaire romain, le Cava de Viriato, se trouvent au nord de la ville. Construit en forme d’octogone, ce site remarquable datant de 2000 ans est un monument national.

En s'éloignant un peu, la Route des Vins Dão offre une promenade touristique à travers les vignes pittoresques et les grandes propriétés. La région est célèbre pour son vin Dão, qui est cultivé depuis l’époque romaine. Au sud-est de Viseu, les montagnes escarpées de la Serra da Estrela proposent différents loisirs pour les voyageurs actifs, y compris de la randonnée, de la pêche et du ski.

Saturday, 25th November 2017 5:24:04am

POUSADA VISEU

HISTORIC HOTEL | CENTER | PORTUGAL

Pousada de Viseu, Beira Alta, Portugal

GPS Coordinates: Latitude N 40 39.170 Longitude W 7 54.814

The pousada is located in the historic city of Viseu, renowned for its artistic treasures and monumental churches. Viseu is the capital of the Beira Alta province, set on a high plateau and surrounded by verdant natural surroundings.

The central location of the pousada is minutes from Viseu’s stately Rossio Square and the narrow cobbled streets of the historic quarter. The highest point of the town is the magnificent granite cathedral (Sé), which dates back to the 13th century. Viseu was also the birthplace of 16th century painter Vasco Fernandes, whose extensive work is displayed in the Museu de Grão Vasco.

Every summer, Viseu hosts the São Mateus Fair, which dates back to the Middle Ages and is one of the region’s biggest agriculture and handicraft markets. Lively celebrations include traditional food and music, with local artisans specialising in black pottery, basketware and lacework.

The remains of a Roman military settlement, the Cava de Viriato, can be found north of the city. Constructed in the shape of an octagon, this remarkable 2000-year-old site is a national monument.

Venturing further out, the Dão Wine Route offers a scenic journey through picturesque vineyards and grand estates. The region is famous for its Dão wine, which has been cultivated since Roman times. South-east of Viseu, the rugged Serra da Estrela mountains offer a range of recreational options for active travellers, including hiking, fishing and skiing.